Trinity humbled yet again by St. Peter’s

A superior performance from St. Peter’s College saw them thump Trinity College 32 (5T,2C,1P) points to 08 (1T,1P) in their 2019 Singer Schools Rugby League encounter played the newly revamped St. Peter’s College grounds in Bambalapitiya. With this victory, the Peterites retained the General Deshamanya Denis Perera Trophy for the 5th consecutive year.

Dilshan Madushanka kick started this crucial game under hot and humid conditions and the Peterites got on to a flying start as Thenuka Nanayakkara slotted in easy penalty to open up the scoring. A few phases later, Nanayakkara collected the loose ball and made a cheeky back-of-the-hand pass to the speedster Raveen Fernando, who ripped through the Trinity defense to score under the post. (SPC 10 – 00 TCK)

Trinity had a few scoring opportunities, but their line out didn’t work as expected and their handling errors gave away possession to the Peterites. Thamuditha Dodanwatte missed an easy penalty kick from in front of the posts, which summed up the Trinity first half.

The Peterites consolidated on their lead when Janidu Fernando found the white wash from the back of a rolling maul. (SPC 15 – 00 TCK)

In the dying stages of the first half, St. Peter’s executed a training ground move perfectly as Trinity was expecting a rolling maul but the boys from Bamba went on with a few pick and drives as Nizran Nilar powered himself over the line to score the third try.

Half Time – St. Peter’s College 20 (3T,1C,1P) – Trinity College 00

St. Peter’s picked up from where they left off in the first half, with quick hands by the backs ensuring that winger Ishan Fernando scored the bonus point try. Fernando showcased his side-stepping moves as he went past the last two defenders to touch down. Nanayakkara made no mistake from the touch line, to make it a perfect 7. (SPC 27 – 00 TCK)

The Peterites gave away unwanted penalties at the breakdown and finally their skipper had to pay the price of a ten-minute breather in the bin as he committed an infringement after the final warning. Trinity pounced on to this numerical advantage as Mecan Yashwantha went over to score the first points for the Lions. Dodanwatte was spot on with his conversion this time as he added the extras. (SPC 27 – 07 TCK)

Trinity was hindered by disciplinary errors as the scrum half Koojana Kulatunga went to the bin for hands in the ruck. In the dying moments of the game, Thenuka Nanayakkara went on to score the 5th try for the Bamba Brigade as they retained the General Deshamanya Denis Perera Trophy for yet another year.

Appreciations to Papare and Nilhan Perera

© Copyright 2023 Trinity Rugby Club. All rights reserved.